Mergen Orthodontics Reviews

  • Phone: (319) 220-0012
  • 1570 Mall Dr. Suite 1, Iowa City, IA 319-321-66

[Limited Offer -CODE: SMILE] Considering Invisalign or Braces? Score an OralB Electric Tooth Brush when you start your treatment and Free Whitening Kit when you finish your treatment! (Print to redeem)

Are You Considering Getting Braces???

REGISTER HERE FOR YOUR FREE SMILE BRIGHT SONIC ELECTRIC TOOTHBRUSH / U.V. Cleaning System ($259.00 VALUE) with your Customized Orthodontic Treatment Plan.

Score your new sonic toothbrush upon receiving your FREE CUSTOMIZED TREATMENT PLAN & EXAM ($349.00 VALUE). Fill out the form to the right to activate this special offer today!*

At Mergen Orthodontics you are more than a patient, you are family.

Read the success stories of our past and present patients below and take the first step towards the incredible smile you deserve!

*Offer is eligible only for New Friends and Families to the practice. Toothbrush system obtained upon starting treatment. Treatment must start in 90 days.


Visit Our Home Page

Reviews 1 - 42 of 1700

"My daughter has been evaluated by Dr. Mergen. I had a crown applied to a molar by my general dentist, and my bottom retainer wouldn't fit. Instead of getting a new retainer, my teeth began to move. I suffer from migraines, and my top retainer prevents me from clinching my teeth when I sleep. I've been migraine free for over 8 years!! So I was afraid to change anything, but because my teeth had started to move, my bite was changing and causing pain. Dr. Mergen made me feel confident and comfortable that invisalign would be my best option to correct my bite, while still preventing migraines. He was very understanding, when I voiced my concerns. 3 weeks into treatment, my tooth no longer feels pain while eating, and now 6 weeks, I'm still migraine free. There are many people who suffer from migraines. It would be amazing if doctors would recommend an evaluation by orthodontics. A cure could be as simple as wearing a retainer. Migraines can be very debilitating, and medicine to help has its own side effects. Orthodontic care has changed my life in many different ways, but curing my blinding migraines has been a blessing."

Review Verified on 3/28/2019
"Very refreshing friendly staff!! Free WiFi, complimentary beverages, free gift when I walked in the door!! All the staff greet you with happy friendly smiles and treat you like family!! I even got to pick out another free gift which was a huge discount savings on my total cost for Invisalign treatment! Dr. Mergen is very professional and patient and kind, all of the staff there are. I left feeling confident in putting my the health of my teeth in their care, they are a wonderful team!! There office is very clean and just makes you feel like you're a top quality VIP patient. I highly encourage you to come here for your orthodontics needs!!!"

Review Verified on 12/23/2018
Facebook Verified
"My teeth got to where I never wanted to really smile until I came to Dr. Mergen. I am so pleased with how my teeth have turned out!!! No more worries about smiling for sure. Every one on staff here are all so sweet and helpful. They all treat you like your family. Thank y'all so much for everything!!!"

Review Verified on 11/1/2018
Facebook Verified
"The staff is very friendly and the atmosphere is great as well. They offer free coffee and water . We have had great results in the ortho care. I would highly recommend this place to everyone."

Review Verified on 10/28/2018
Facebook Verified
"Dr. Mergen and his staff is beyond amazing. Just the atmosphere when you walk into the office is like a breath of fresh air. Its nice clean airy toys for the children . The treats and refreshments are also a plus for others. You walk in the door and everyone knows you by name are very friendly and they are easy to converse with. There is never a wait to go to the back. Going in for appointments is a very easy process. Making appointments are breeze . Over all a wonderful experience and my recommendations will be forever with Dr. Mergen and his staff. Thanks so much!!!"

Review Verified on 4/1/2015
Facebook Verified
"Dr. Mergen did a fantastic job with our son! We decided to do braces as a 5th grader which we knew would create some challenges with being responsible with brushing and bands, etc... Every visit Dr. Mergen and his team would reiterate the importance of doing all of the right things with him... and believe it or not here we are successfully getting braces off with great results. Again, wasn't easy and this process has presented many challenges but Dr. Mergen and his team just patiently stuck with him... Thank you! The staff, the office, and Dr. Mergen were all excellent!"

Review Verified on 3/24/2015
Facebook Verified
"It's always a great experience going in! We love how Sam was always taught how to care for his teeth/braces. Always quick and helpful."

Review Verified on 3/6/2015
Facebook Verified
"When we realized our daughter needed braces, we knew exactly where to go. We live an hour away but the drive is well worth it! Dr. Mergen and his staff are wonderful!! We are in and out quickly and they take the time to listen and explain everything thoroughly every step of the way. We also have two boys coming to Dr. Mergen for orthodontic care and are very pleased!"

Review Verified on 12/17/2014
Facebook Verified
"We had a wonderful experience with the entire staff at Mergen Orthodontics. Dr. Mergen and his staff are professional and personable, making each visit productive and enjoyable. We will be back very soon with another of our kids for orthodontic care we can trust in. Thanks! Phil Rocca"

Review Verified on 12/16/2014
Facebook Verified
"Everyone was extremely friendly and knowledgable. I felt instantly comfortable and valued as a customer."

Review Verified on 12/11/2014
Facebook Verified
"I brought my daughter to Mergen in January 2013. Dr.Mergen was great explaining to us the process we would go through and what to expect. The high technology he has to show us his plan and what would Happen over the next year year and a half was fantastic. He was great at communicating her progress or took the time to meet with me if i had any questions. The staff was always very friendly . They went above and beyond keeping in contact I regards to appointments,helping with rearranging schedules to fit our needs and very knowledgable with any insurance questions. Choosing Mergen Orthodontics was the best choice we made. I can't thank them enough for helping make my daughter have an even more beautiful smile and boosting her confidence."

Review Verified on 11/18/2014
Facebook Verified
"Dr. Mergen is terrific, explains everything really well and involves kids and parents both in the plan of care. Office staff is wonderful, personable and efficient."

Review Verified on 10/2/2014
Facebook Verified
"Both of my kids have had braces at Mergen Orthodontics, our experience each time was always very pleasant! I can't say enough about Dr. Mergen and his awesome staff, always so friendly and on time. I will definitely recommend Mergen Orthodontics to all our family and friends!!"

Review Verified on 7/1/2014
Facebook Verified
"Dr. Mergen and his staff are always very professional and great to work with. My oldest son gets his braces off today and we have two more sons who will be getting braces too. We will definitely we repeat customers of Mergen Orthodontics!"

Review Verified on 5/27/2014
"I thought I was to old to have straight teeth without oral surgery and metal braces. Invisalign is amazing! In one year my teeth are straight and I'm so excited about my smile! I can smile with confidence and not be self conscious. Thanks for the fabulous new look!!"

Review Verified on 4/11/2019
"We have been so happy with our experience at Mergen! We had 2 kids, simultaneously going through the process. Dr. Merger was so easy to work with and was so flexible with our payment options. The level of professionalism in the office is amazing. Always greeted with a smile and the check-in/check-out process was quick and easy. I would definitely recommend (and have) this office to others. I am grateful for what Dr. Merged has done for my kids and their now amazing smiles!"

Review Verified on 3/27/2019
"Dr. Mergen and his staff are above and beyond! We knew the minute we walked into the office that they all really cared about our daughter's questions and concerns. Dr. Mergen will now be be a big part of our daughter's life. He brought her true relief of discomfort she was having and a new confidence that she will carry with her forever. We thank him for being a caring person that listens, hears what you say and carries out what he says he will do. I will 100% be recommending anyone who needs an orthodontist. Mergen Orthodontics is #1 in our book for sure!"

Review Verified on 3/27/2019
"Excellent experience with Dr. Mergen and his team. I am in love with the amazing result, and I cannot stop smiling. Thank you so much!"

Review Verified on 3/12/2019
"I came to Mergen Orthodontics seeking another opinion on if I would be a good candidate for Invisalign. I am getting married this summer, and the thought of having metal braces or really crooked teeth was not appealing in the slightest! I had been told by another orthodontist that I could be a candidate, but that I wouldn't like the results because Invisalign wouldn't do as much as braces could. Dr. Mergen and his staff were very friendly and welcoming! Within a few minutes, they put my concerns to rest. Turns out that I am indeed a candidate for Invisalign, and that there is no need to pull several healthy teeth like the other orthodontist wanted to do. I am grateful that Mergen Orthodontics has embraced newer technology. From their extensive use of Invisaling, to their imaging systems and the option to use EcceleDent, their office seems to be pretty state of the art. Also, their cost is very reasonable! I am going to be paying about the same or a little less that the other place wanted for traditional braces."

Review Verified on 2/8/2019
"Dr Mergen & his staff were excellent. They did an excellent job on my teeth & now my smile is great! Have recommended them to friends based on my experience there. Thanks to all at Mergen's"

Review Verified on 4/15/2015
"Dr. Mergen and his staff are absolutely amazing! We have two children that have been patients of Dr. Mergen's and recommend his office to family and friends. Those family and friends that have chosen Mergen Orthondtics have been just as pleased. The staff is friendly and inviting and they truly make you feel like you are a special patient. THANK YOU to the staff at Mergen Orthodontics for taking such good care of us! :)"

Review Verified on 4/8/2015
"I highly recommend Mergen Orthodontics. 3 members of my family have been treated here and it's worth the commute for us to receive fast and always friendly professional service. Also to note their new facility is very nice offering free coffee, water, and wi-if while you wait for your kids."

Review Verified on 4/7/2015
"Staff always friendly. Appointments are always on time no waiting. My daughter has been happy with every visit. The doctor is professional sincere and very painless. Frankly I could not imagine how it could be any better,"

Review Verified on 4/1/2015
"I just referred a friend for a consultation, hope you see her soon. I told her how happy I was with how y'all go the extra mile."

Review Verified on 3/24/2015
"Dr Mergen and his staff are the most friendly people I see on any given day. What a pleasant experience!!! Great work, very professional, amazingly pleasant."

Review Verified on 3/12/2015
"It was such fun to work with Dr. Mergen as his dad was my orthodontist. I wish they had the clear brackets in my time. Jack didn't want people to see he had braces. Once Jack learned that the brackets would be clear, and that he didn't have to have colored bands he was fine with braces. He wouldn't be called "metal mouth". Making appointments that worked with our schedule was a piece of cake due to Dr. Mergen's office hours. There was little to no wait time, too. We'll be back with our second child."

Review Verified on 3/11/2015
"I love my new smile! All appointments were fast and my wait was never longer than 5 minutes. Dr. Mergen was personable and explained all parts of the treatment to my satisfaction. Appointments worked around my difficult schedule. Overall, my experience was great. Thank you!"

Review Verified on 12/22/2014
"My older son just got his braces off. Dr. Mergen and his team were wonderful! They were always so positive and encouraged our son through the whole process. They answered all of our questions too! His teeth look great! We'll be back with our younger son in a couple of years."

Review Verified on 12/18/2014
"Every time I've brought my daughter Kylie in the staff has been more then friendly and always helpful with scheduling appointments around my work schedule. I always appreciate the reminder call of her appointment. You've absolutely no waiting time, when we are 5 to 10 minutes early you've always got her in and out. I constantly brag about how fast and easy the appointments have been. But most of all I want to thank everyone for the AMAZING job you all have done with the look and smile you've put with my daughters face. To me that is priceless and I wouldn't ever go anywhere else. THANK YOU THANK YOU"

Review Verified on 12/14/2014
"11 years ago I had a bike accident that knocked out my front tooth. My dentist at the time fixed it the best that he could , but after that I was told I couldn't get braces because of my then half fake tooth. I was always self conscious about my smile and my crooked teeth. So about a year and a half ago when I was told my tooth needed to be removed and I would need braces I was thrilled. Doctor Mergen and associates are truly making a dream come true for me and I'll never be able to thank them enough helping build the confidence in myself that I've always lacked. Thank you guys sooooo much. =]"

Review Verified on 11/2/2014
"This is our second time around using Dr. Mergen and his staff! First time was for Ellie's dad and now it's Ellie's turn. It wasn't the most convenient on OUR end as Ellie goes to school in Cedar Rapids and I work down here, but Ellie just thought SO much of Dr. Mergen and everyone that worked here that she really wanted to have her braces done by them. Dr. Mergen assured us he would make it as efficient and seamless as possible and that definitely has been the case. I've never been to any business that is as flexible and easy to schedule as Mergen Orthodontics. Ellie gets right in the minute we walk in the door. They are so fast that sometimes I wish they took a little longer so I could enjoy their beautiful, new waiting room a bit longer! Thank you for all of your excellent care and we will miss all of you when Ellie gets her braces off!"

Review Verified on 10/8/2014
"After 40+ years of needing braces; I decided now was the time. After paying for braces for my three children I decided that making that payment a few more months was finally doable. I loved seeing their beautiful teeth and smiles and didn't want to have to continue to be self-conscious when I smiled; especially because I work in a professional environment and it always bothered me that my teeth were not straight. Unfortunately, I was a thumb sucker as a young child and grew up in a single parent household, so money for braces was not an option. The staff at Mergen have been so friendly and welcoming and encouraging; it has made the process very bearable! I'm excited to see the end result and gain the pleasure of being able to smile without being self conscious about my teeth."

Review Verified on 7/14/2014
"When it was time for my son to get braces, our pediatric dentist recommended Dr. Mergen. On our first visit, Dr. Mergen advised that Ben wasn't ready yet. Having a professional opinion without the pressure to sign up right away was surprising. From that point on, we found Dr. Mergen and his staff to be professional, helpful, pleasant, and thorough. We chose to pay upfront for insurance and discount purposes which worked great and took away stress. We always did an early morning (7 am) appointment so Ben never had to miss school - I really appreciated that! I can see a difference in my son's smile and his confidence. Now that we are at the end of this journey, we will miss the team at Mergen but we know they will equally help other families!! Thank you - Laura J."

Review Verified on 6/30/2014
"Both my sons had their orthodontics (braces) done at Mergen Orthodontics. We've been very happy with our experience here and have recommended Dr. Mergen to many friends. The staff is always professional, efficient and competent & the new facility is absolutely amazing. Today my younger son gets his braces off and I want to thank everyone at Mergen for such great service!"

Review Verified on 6/11/2014
"Over the top customer service! Instant results and very professional! Staff is very friendly and super compassionate. Overall very satisfied and would recommend Mergen to anyone!"

Review Verified on 6/4/2014
"The atmosphere at Mergen Orthodontics is as inviting and friendly as one could ever hope for. Our daughter was always made as comfortable as possible and always looked forward to the next visit. The transformation and results were amazing, many thanks to the whole staff."

Review Verified on 6/4/2014
"From the first time I walked in the door at Mergen Orthodontics and through my last visit, I was met by bright and cheerful smiles every time. The staff is professional and kind and always engaging. Dr. Merger has raised the bar even higher with his new state of the art facility where every aspect of the process and patient experience has been considered with thoughtfulness and clarity. The end results of my orthodontic work are beyond my expectations and I will continue to recommend Dr. Mergen to anyone looking for a better brighter smile."

Review Verified on 6/2/2014
"What can I say about our experience with Mergen Orthodontics? It has been FANTASTIC! From the very first phone call to our visit today, everyone has been so welcoming and helpful. We have never had problems making appointments that fit our schedule and Gabby and James have always been seen right on time, if not before their scheduled time. Kelsey is always there greeting us with a smile! She really connects with everyone who walks in. Dr. Mergen and the entire staff is fun,energetic and ready to answer all of your questions, which makes coming to the appointments enjoyable, not stressful at all. I would recommend Mergen Orthodontics to everyone."

Review Verified on 5/28/2014
"Dr. Mergen and his staff have been great to work with. Dr. Megen was our second orthodontist that we sought advice from. He by far was our first choice in method, technique and overall thoroughness. If anybody is in limbo about getting a second opinion~ don't bother if the 1st one is Dr. Mergen. He and his staff are the best!!"

Review Verified on 5/21/2014
"A positive customer experience every time! The staff is always friendly, attentive, accommodating, and so helpful. Their customer service is top notch. If you call and they know who you are when you say your name. The atmosphere is fun and relaxing. I’m impressed with the job knowledge in combination with technology of today and/or tomorrow amd one in one customer focus of yesterday year. They are efficient and effective with your time. Thorough and all smiles! I’m excited for my new smile! Thank you for all you do."

Review Verified on 2/16/2019
Facebook Verified
"Both of my daughters had their orthodontic treatment done at Mergen Orthodontics. The process was quick and easy! Completely worth the hour drive!"

Review Verified on 1/15/2019
Facebook Verified
"Would highly recommend Mergen Orthodontics to anyone needing braces. My daughter was very anxious at her initial visit, but Dr. Mergen and his staff were quick to put her at ease. The entire process from start to finish was seamless. Great experience!"

Review Verified on 1/9/2019
Reviews 1 - 42 of 1700

Write Your Review Today!

Powered by OrthoElevate.com